You can programmatically delete resources from a given
location in the repository by using the Repository service Java
API or web service API.
When you delete a resource, the deletion is normally permanent,
though in some cases ECM repositories may store the versions of
the resource according to their history mechanisms. Therefore, when
deleting a resource, it is important to be sure that you will never
need that resource again. The common reasons for deleting a resource
include the need to increase the available space in the database.
You can delete a version of a resource, but if you do so you must
specify the resource identifier, and not its logical identifier
(LID) or path. If you delete a folder, everything in that folder,
including subfolders and resources, will be automatically deleted.
Related resources are not deleted. For example, if you have a
form that uses the logo.gif file, and you delete logo.gif, a relationship
will be stored in the pending relationship table. As an alternative,
for version deprecation, set the object status of the latest version
A deletion operation is not transaction-safe in ECM systems.
For example, if you attempt to delete 100 resources and the operation
fails on the 50th resource, the first 49 instances will be deleted
but the rest will not be. Otherwise, the default behavior is rollback
When using the
with ECM repository (EMC Documentum Content Server and IBM FileNet
P8 Content Manager), the transaction will not be rolled back if
the deletion fails for one of the specified resources, which means
that those files that have been deleted cannot be undeleted.