A Help project includes topics, graphics, style sheets, TOC, windows, and other components, each with its own file so authors can work on components independently.
•Edit project components while authors edit other components.
•View project components even while they are being worked on.
•Get the latest changes (after authors check in files).
•Configure and use version control from RoboHelp. (Using version control on your project outside RoboHelp is not recommended.)
Yes, to use revision tracking, and to centralize projects onto a network for backup.
Multiuser checkouts are not recommended.
Click File > Options > Version Control.
When removing files or folders from your project, remove them from version control also. Also use your version control software to create user accounts or set program properties. You can open version control from RoboHelp.
You don’t have to check out the XPJ file when editing. You check out the XPJ file only if you edit project settings.
Yes. New topics are added immediately; new folders are added when you save the project. When you rename a file or folder, it is not renamed in version control. The new item is added, but the original item remains with its old name. Remove the item by going into version control.
Save your project whenever you add files, but be sure to check files back in to add changes to version control. Changes saved to your local hard drive aren’t added.
Files are removed from version control as you delete them. Renamed items are added under their new name, but the old version remains under its old name.
You can get the latest file versions (checked in by other users) when you open the project, or manually.
If others need access to your output files, add them to version control.