About version control

RoboHelp works with version control software to check out files automatically (if already not in use) when you begin editing and tracks their use. You can also view files by opening them from version control without checking them out.

To work with RoboHelp, your version control software must support the Microsoft SCC API. You can use Adobe RoboSource Control (installed with RoboHelp), Microsoft SharePoint (integrated natively with RoboHelp), or a different third-party package. Either way, you perform version control tasks from within RoboHelp.

Read the following articles if you plan to integrate RoboHelp projects with Microsoft Team Founda­tion Server or Subversion:

Integrating RoboHelp projects with Team FoundationServer

Integrating RoboHelp projects with Subversion

When you finish with a file, you can check it into version control, or let the program check in all files when you close the project. Once your changes are checked in, other authors can access them. You can also set RoboHelp to automatically check in files when you close the project.note:    If you cannot check out a file, check if one or more files is checked out by another user. Or, check if the file is not in version control.

Many topics are linked to other topics, or part of the TOC, index, and browse sequences. When you modify a file or change the project structure, RoboHelp automatically checks out all affected, depen­dent files (if available). When you move a file, the author is prompted to check out the source and destination folders.

To turn off prompts when performing version control tasks manually, deselect the option on the Version Control tab (Select File > Options). Files are then checked out automatically. Files not selected in the list cannot be checked out. RoboHelp shows which files you must check out and whether they are already checked out.note:    RoboHelp checks out all the dependent files automati­cally.

To undo any changes in the checked out copy of a version-controlled file, undo the checkout of the file listed. Then return to the latest copy from version control. This Undo Check Out command discards changes to the local file copy.

Version control safeguards files as you work, provides revision tracking, makes backups, and can provide file sharing and organization. All files added to a project under version control are automat­ically added to version control and checked out. All files removed from a project are automatically removed from version control, though file history is retained.

You can perform version control tasks from project panes: Right-click the file, select a command, select the file, and click Add to Version Control in the Collaborate ribbon. Or, select the file and then select an option in the Collaborate ribbon.


September 30, 2016

Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy