Wondering why you are receiving error messages like the one below when you try sharing a link or inviting a collaborator to a Creative Cloud or Document Cloud asset?

"Enterprise Sharing Restrictions Enabled. This user can’t be invited because your organization has enabled sharing restrictions. Learn more."

What is causing this message?

Enterprise sharing restrictions refer to a new feature called Asset Settings that your IT administrator has used to strengthen security control of your organization’s assets. It can save you from accidental violation of your organization’s data ownership and security policies.

This feature only applies to users with an Adobe Enterprise ID or an Adobe Federated ID, not to the users with an individual Adobe ID.

Your IT administrator can select from three options within Asset Settings, each indicating a different level of sharing restriction.

  • No restrictions: The default setting whereby users are allowed to share public links and collaborate on shared folders and documents with anyone inside or outside your organization.
  • No public link sharing: Restricts public link sharing and other public publishing options (see the full list below). Users can still collaborate on folders and documents with anyone outside your organization.
  • Sharing only to domain users: Restricts public link sharing and other public publishing options. It also prevents invitation-based folder and document sharing with individuals outside the claimed domains, trusted domains, and whitelisted domains. Your IT administrator sets this collaboration restriction per external organization (or domain), not per external individual.

Below are the sharing features within Creative Cloud and Document Cloud applications that are turned off when either No public link sharing or Sharing only to domain users is selected. The exceptions are that all Collaborate features still work when sharing with people in trusted, claimed, and whitelisted domains, if your IT administrator chooses Sharing only to domain users.

Creative Cloud

Creative Cloud Application Features that are turned off
Creative Cloud Assets Collaborate, Share to Slack, Send Link
Creative Cloud Libraries Collaborate, Share to Slack, Send Link
Adobe XD Publish Services
InDesign Publish Online
Spark Publish
Capture Share, Collaborate
Creative Cloud mobile app Create link, Collaborate
Behance Create project
Portfolio Publish

Document Cloud

Document Cloud Application Features that are turned off
Acrobat and Reader desktop apps Send & Track
Web services (cloud.acrobat.com)
Send & Track
Send & Track Outlook plug-in Send & Track
Mobile apps (including Acrobat and Scan) Share Link, Share Document Cloud Link


Adobe Sign features are not affected. The features continue to work as expected.

Consequences of restrictive Asset Settings

No public link sharing disables and deletes all existing public links and prevents users with these links from accessing the linked content. Sharing only to domain users disables and deletes existing public links AND revokes and removes all existing folder or document collaborations. In both cases, you cannot stop or undo the deletion process once the IT administrator chooses the setting.

To change future sharing abilities, the IT administrator can change the setting to a less restrictive option.

Possible actions

If you are encountering error messages about “Enterprise sharing restrictions”, contact your IT administrator to find out which Asset Setting has been chosen for your organization and what organizations are on the list of allowed external domains. If you want to continue sharing organization-owned assets with specific external organizations or individuals, you can request the following from your IT administrator.

  • For an external organization such as an agency: Ask your IT administrator to add the agency’s domain to the whitelist of domains.
  • For a freelancer: Ask your IT administrator to issue the individual an Adobe Enterprise ID or Federated ID from your organization.