Peer-assisted networking settings

Use this panel to specify peer-assisted networking settings for any website you have visited that has asked to use peer-assisted networking.

  • Ask me when a site wants to use peer-assisted networking

    When you select this option, any website that wants to use peer-assisted networking for the first time must ask your permission. When prompted, you can choose to allow or block the site’s use of peer-assisted networking. This applies to websites you haven't yet visited, as well as to sites that you have visited but have not specified peer-assisted networking settings for.

  • Block all sites from using peer-assisted networking

    When you select this option, no website can use peer-assisted networking, and you are never asked whether you want to share your bandwidth.

    If you enable this option, you are not agreeing to share your bandwidth whenever an application wants to use it. You are only allowing applications to ask you whether you want to share your bandwidth. In most cases, you want to share your bandwidth only when you are using a high-speed Internet connection.