Share, comment, and review

Share documents

You can use Adobe Reader to share documents with others. For more information, see Share files from Acrobat.com using SendNow Online and Share files by e-mail in Acrobat Help.

Comment on PDF files

You can comment on PDF files using Reader. By default, Sticky Note and Highlighter tools are available. Additional annotation and markup tools are available if the PDF author has enabled them. (In Acrobat, choose File > Save As > Reader Extended PDF > Enable Additional Features).

For more information see Commenting in Acrobat Help. For a quick video on commenting in Reader see How to Add Comments in Adobe Reader.

Sticky Note and Highlight tool

Participate in a review

When you receive a PDF to review, you can annotate it by using the commenting and markup tools. You use the same tools to return your comments to the author. (These features are available only if the PDF author has enabled commenting.)

Drawing Markups panel
A.
Add text box

B.
Add text callout

C.
Draw line

D.
Draw arrow

E.
Draw oval

F.
Draw rectangle

G.
Draw cloud

H.
Draw polygon

I.
Draw connected lines

J.
Draw free form

K.
Erase free form

Reply to comments, or delete replies

  • Right-click a comment, and choose Reply from the pop-up menu.

  • If later decide to remove your reply, right-click it, and click Delete.

For more information, see Reply to comments in Acrobat Help.

Approve or reject a PDF

If you’re asked to approve a PDF, you receive an e-mail message that provides step-by-step instructions. At the top of the PDF, use options in the Stamps palette and the document message bar to approve or reject the document.

For more information, see Participate in an approval workflow in Acrobat Help.

Note: Only Acrobat users with multi-byte versions of Acrobat can start an approval workflow. However, Reader users with any language version can approve or reject a PDF.

Track a review (Reader application only, not browser)

To track a document review or view the status of a review, choose View > Tracker. The Tracker shows who has joined a review and how many comments each person has published.
  • The left side of the Tracker shows all PDF documents in managed reviews.

  • The right side lists the date and time the PDF was sent and the list of invited reviewers. Links to shared PDFs provide additional information, including the deadline (if set) and the number of comments submitted per reviewer. Deleting a link in the Tracker does not delete the PDF file.

  • Latest Updates summarizes the latest changes to reviews.

For more information, see Track reviewed PDFs in Acrobat Help.

Recover from an unexpected shutdown (Reader application only, not browser)

The Autosave feature prevents changes from being lost after an unexpected interruption.
  1. Open the files you were working on before the unexpected shutdown.

  2. When prompted, click Yes to open the files that were automatically saved.

  3. Save the files with the same names as the files you were originally working on.

If automatic saving is disabled, restart it from the Preferences dialog box

  1. Right-click a document, and choose Page Display Preferences from the pop-up menu.

  2. In the left column, select Documents, and then select Automatically Save Document Changes To Temporary File Every XX Minutes.

  3. In the Minutes box, specify how often you want to save files.