View Before and After photos

You can compare two versions of a photo as you apply Develop settings to it. The Before view first displays the photo as it was originally imported, including any presets that were applied. The photo remains unchanged unless you copy settings to it. The After view shows changes as you make them. Zooming and panning are synchronized in the two views.

  • To switch the Before and After views one at a time in Loupe view, press the backslash (\ ) key or choose View > Before/After > Before Only. The word “Before” appears in the lower-right of the image.
  • To display the Before and After photos in two views together, click the Before And After Views button on the toolbar to toggle through the choices or choose an option from the pop-up menu.
    Before/After Left/Right
    Displays two whole versions of the photo in two views, side-by-side on the screen.

    Before/After Left/Right Split
    Displays two halves of the photo split into two views, side-by-side on the screen.

    Before/After Top/Bottom
    Displays two whole versions of the photo in two views, one on top of the other.

    Before/After Top/Bottom Split
    Displays two halves of the photo split into two views, one on top of the other.