Customize and manage workspaces

Default workspaces

You can choose from default workspaces or create custom workspaces and switch between them. The default workspaces are designed so that you can quickly switch between workspaces according to what you want to accomplish. For example, the Review workspace has review toolbars, commonly used pods, and pods prearranged to help you review a document quickly.

  • Authoring

  • DITA Authoring (available only in Structured FrameMaker)

  • Manage Content

  • Manage Graphics

  • Review

  • Structured Authoring (available only in Structured FrameMaker)

Save a custom workspace

  1. Configure the workspace the way you want it and choose Save Workspace from the workspace switcher on the Application bar.

  2. Type a name for the workspace and click OK.

FrameMaker remembers the last used workspace across sessions. If you were working in the Review workspace and you close and relaunch FrameMaker, it loads the Review workspace.

Switch workspaces

 Select a workspace from the workspace switcher in the Application bar.

Use the workspace switcher to switch between workspaces designed for your workflow.

Reset a workspace

By saving the current configuration of pods as a named workspace, you can restore that workspace even if you move or close a pod. The names of saved workspaces appear in the workspace switcher in the Application bar.

 Select the Reset Workspace option from the workspace switcher in the Application bar.

Rename a custom workspace

  1. Select Manage Workspace from the workspace switcher in the Application bar.

  2. Select the workspace and click Rename.

  3. Type a new name and click OK twice.

Delete a custom workspace

 Select Manage Workspace from the workspace switcher in the Application bar, select the workspace, and then click Delete.