Customizing Dreamweaver in a multiuser environment

You can customize Dreamweaver in a multiuser operating system such as Microsoft® Windows® XP, Windows Vista, or Mac OS® X. Dreamweaver prevents the customized configuration of any user from affecting the configurations of other users. The first time you run Dreamweaver in a multiuser operating system, Dreamweaver copies configuration files into a user Configuration folder. When you customize Dreamweaver by using dialog boxes and panels, the application modifies your user Configuration files instead of modifying the Dreamweaver Configuration files. To customize Dreamweaver in a multiuser environment, edit the appropriate user Configuration file, rather than the Dreamweaver Configuration files. To make changes that affect most users, edit a Dreamweaver Configuration file. However, users who already have corresponding user Configuration files do not see the change. To make changes that affect all users, create an extension and install it using the Extension Manager.

Note: In older multiuser operating systems (Windows 98, Windows ME, and Mac OS 9.x), all users share a single set of Dreamweaver Configuration files.

The location of the Configuration folder of the user depends on the platform of the user.

Windows XP platforms use the following location:

hard disk:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Adobe\Dreamweaver CS5\Configuration

Note: It is possible that this folder is inside a hidden folder.

Windows Vista platforms use the following location:

hard disk:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Dreamweaver CS5\Configuration

Mac OS X platforms use the following location:

hard disk:\Users/username/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Dreamweaver CS5/Configuration

Note: To install extensions that all users can use in a multiuser operating system, you must be logged in as Administrator (Windows) or root (Mac OS X).

The first time you run Dreamweaver, it copies only some of the configuration files into your user Configuration folder. (The files that it copies are specified in the version.xml file in the Configuration folder.) When you customize Dreamweaver from within the application, Dreamweaver copies the configuration files into your user Configuration folder. For example, Dreamweaver copies the files when you modify one of the predesigned code snippets in the Snippets panel. The version of a file in your user Configuration folder always takes precedence over the version in the Dreamweaver Configuration folder. To customize a configuration file, it must be present in the user Configuration folder. If Dreamweaver has not copied the file already, copy and edit the file in the user Configuration folder.