Video in meetings

Note: Adobe Connect administrators can change pod, audio, and video settings to adhere to standards for governance. For more information, see Working with compliance and control settings.

Connect to video telephony streams

The Video Telephony pod lets hosts share video streams with attendees, including any audio. When one-way communication is sufficient for a presentation, a telephony stream can be preferable to a two-way conference.

  1. Choose Pods > Video Telephony.

  2. Click Open Stream.

  3. From the pop-up menu, choose the appropriate device.

    Your Adobe Connect administrator establishes the list of available devices. (See Configure video telephony devices.)

  4. Click Connect.

    The Video Telephony pod appears for all attendees. When attendees hover the mouse over the pod, a volume control appears for stream audio.

    To display volume control, hover the mouse over Video Telephony pod.
  5. In the upper right of the pod, hosts can click Pause Stream or pod menu to access Close Stream, Change Stream, or Mute Audio options.

Enable participants to share webcam video

By default, only hosts and presenters can broadcast video. However, hosts can enable participants to broadcast by doing any of the following:

  • To enable video for all participants, click the menu button to the right of the microphone button, and choose Enable Video for Participants.

  • To enable video for specific participants, select one or more in the Attendees pod. Then choose any of the following from the pop-up menu: Enable Video, Make Host, or Make Presenter.

Share webcam video

Hosts, presenters, and participants with enhanced rights can simultaneously share video from webcams connected to their computers.

You can select the webcam feed to broadcast if you have multiple webcams working. If a user changes the selection or a connected webcam is unplugged, the change happens in real time. Also, Adobe Connect remembers this setting, irrespective of the Adobe Flash Player settings on the local machine.

About video layouts

Adobe Connect 9.2 onwards, Filmstrip layout is available along with the Grid layout. In Filmstrip layout, the main video occupies most of the Video pod area and the rest of the videos appear as smaller feeds within a filmstrip. Hosts, Presenters, and participants with enhanced video rights can set a video feed as the primary video from among all the video feeds.

In Full Screen mode, the Title bar is not visible and only the video feeds are displayed. Hover the pointer at the upper edge of the full screen video to access the menu options and the Exit Full Screen button.

View full size graphic
Filmstrip mode allows participants to focus on one speaker

When a meeting host switches to Filmstrip layout, the Host’s video is the main video. A host can mark any video as the main video. If any feed is hidden from the strip, a scroll icon is available at the end. Any user can scroll the strip on either sides to see other available feeds. Scrolling the feed does not impact the display of other users.

Layout

Aspect ratio on Windows

Aspect ratio on Mac

Grid

User defined

Widescreen (16:9) with pillar boxing

Filmstrip

User defined

Widescreen displayed in 4:3 ratio

When using Filmstrip mode, Adobe Connect typically consumes less bandwidth and processor, as compared to, the Grid Mode. This provides a better meeting experience for all the attendees.

Share your video

  1. Click the Start My Webcam button in the main menu bar or Video pod.

    In the Video pod, a preview image appears so you can adjust camera position. If you want to use a different connected camera, select it from the Video pod menu .

    To cancel video sharing, click outside the preview image in the Video pod.
  2. Click Start Sharing to broadcast your video to all participants.
  3. To pause or stop video, hover the mouse over Video pod, and click the Pause or Stop icons.

    When video is paused, the last image broadcast from your camera remains static in the Video pod until you click Play to resume broadcasting. When video is stopped, the broadcast image disappears entirely.

    Hosts can pause or stop video from any attendee.
    Webcam video in Video pod and the available controls
    A.
    Stop sharing the webcam

    B.
    Hosts can switch to the Grid layout when multiple webcams are being used

    C.
    Hosts can switch to the Filmstrip layout when multiple webcams are being used

    D.
    Make the Video pod full screen.

    E.
    Menu icon to access all options of the Video pod

    F.
    Close video (appears when a meeting host or a meeting presenter hovers pointer over the video)

    G.
    Pause video (appears when anyone hovers pointer over the video)

Settings to share webcam video

You can access various options either directly from the Video pod menu by accessing Video pod preferences.

  • In Filmstrip mode, to set a video as the main video, hover pointer over the video and click Set as Main Video.

  • You can maximize the Video pod within the meeting room. Click the icon , and click Maximize.

  • You can select a particular webcam to use in your meetings from the Video pod. Click the menu icon , and from the Select Camera option, choose one of the attached webcams.

  • Hosts can select either the Filmstrip or the Gird layout. Alternatively, click or icon in the title bar of the Video pod.

  • You can make the Video pod Full Screen. In Full Screen mode, the Title bar is not visible. Hover the pointer at the upper edge of the full screen video to access the menu options and the Exit Full Screen button. Alternatively, hit escape key to turn off the full screen mode.

    Note: Full Screen mode is different from the Maximize option. When the former option is used, a Video pod occupies the entire screen, whereas when the latter is used, the Video pod occupies the entire meeting room.
  • Hosts and Presenters can enforce their view settings for all the attendees, by clicking Force Presenter View.

    Note: Force Presenter View option in the Video pod is not available in Break Out rooms.
  • In the Preferences, select Disable Webcam Preview to disable preview when you start your webcam and start sharing the video.

  • In the Preferences, select Highlight Active Speakers to visually highlight the video of the speaker who is speaking at the moment. Multiple videos are highlighted, if multiple participants are speaking simultaneously.

  • You can choose the aspect ratio from the two available options—Standard (4:3) and Wide Screen (16:9). These changes are applicable to all the participants sharing their webcam.

  • Adjust the Video Quality setting to optimize the trade-off between image quality and bandwidth usage. For example, if shared screens update slowly, choose a lower Video Quality setting. Hosts, Presenters, or participants with video rights, can adjust the quality of webcam video.

    This setting interacts with the meeting room bandwidth, as set by the host. (See Set meeting room bandwidth.)