Creating administrators

Administrators are users who manage Adobe Connect for their entire organization. Administrators create, remove, and manage user accounts. Administrators manage permissions for individual users and groups. Administrators perform these tasks using a web application called Connect Central.

There are two levels of Adobe Connect administrator: administrator and limited administrator. Administrators have full administrative privileges; limited administrators have lesser administrative privileges. Administrators can set permissions for limited administrators.

The first administrator is created when Adobe Connect is installed or when the account is created. The administrator can then create additional administrators and limited administrators. For example, an administrator can create limited administrator accounts for Help Desk employees who support Adobe Connect users.

Create an administrator

  1. Log in to Connect Central.
  2. Click Administration > Users and Groups.
  3. Select a user and click Information.
  4. Click Edit Group Membership.
  5. Select the Administrators group and click Add.

Create a limited administrator

  1. Log in to Connect Central.
  2. Click Administration > Users and Groups.
  3. Select a user and click Information.
  4. Click Edit Group Membership.
  5. Select the Administrators - Limited group and click Add.

Set permissions for the limited administrators group

  1. Log in to Connect Central.
  2. Click Administration > Users and Groups.
  3. Select Administrators - Limited and click Information.
  4. Click Edit Limited Administrator Permissions.
  5. Select the check boxes beside the permissions you want to grant in the following sections and click Save.
    Users and Groups
    Checking View User Data lets limited administrators view and user information in the Administrator > Users and Groups tab.

    Checking Reset Password lets limited administrators create a temporary password for a user. See Edit user information.

    Checking Modify current users and groups lets limited administrators edit user and group info. See Managing users and groups.

    Checking Add users and groups using Web interface lets limited administrators use the Administration > Users and Groups interface. Checking Add users and groups using CSV import lets limited administrators import users and groups from a CSV (comma-separated value) file. See Creating and importing users and groups.

    Checking Delete users and groups lets limited administrators delete users and groups. See Managing users and groups.

    Checking Modify user profile fields lets limited administrators access the Administrator > Users and Groups > Customize User Profile tab. See Customize user profile fields.

    Checking Change the login and password policies lets limited administrators access the Administration > Users and Groups > Edit Login and Password Policies tab. See Set login and password policies.

    Checking Cost Centers lets limited administrators access the Administrator > Users and Groups > Cost Centers tab. See Allocate meeting minutes to cost centers.

    Account Management
    Checking Edit account information lets limited administrators access the Administration > Account > Edit Information tab to edit the default language, time zone, and Event user policy for an account. Limited administrators can also edit the primary contact information for an account.

    Checking Receive Notifications about Account Capacity and Expiration lets limited administrators access the Administration > Account > Notifications tab. See Edit account notification settings.

    Customization
    Lets limited administrators access the Administration > Customization tab if the customization feature is enabled for their account. See Customize the branding of an account.

    Reports
    Checking View disk usage and reports lets limited administrators view reports in the following sections of Connect Central: Administration > Account > Disk Usage; Administration > Account > Reports; Administration > Administration Dashboard.

    Checking View System Usage Reports lets limited administrators view System Usage reports in the Reports wizard (click the Reports tab in Connect Central). See Generating reports in Connect Central.

    Compliance and Control
    Lets limited administrators access the Administration > Compliance and Control tab to ensure that the account adheres to government standards for privacy, communication, and archiving. See Working with compliance and control settings.

    Permissions
    Lets limited administrators set permissions for content in the Content, Training, Meetings, Seminar Rooms, and Event Management libraries in Connect Central. Within the library, choose Set Permissions. See Set permissions for content files and folders.

  6. Click Reset to Default to restore default limited administrator permissions.