Meeting basics

About meetings

An Adobe® Connect™ Meeting is a live online conference for multiple users. The meeting room is an online application that you use to conduct a meeting. The meeting room consists of various display panels (pods) and components. There are several prebuilt meeting room layouts, or customize a layout to suit your needs. The meeting room enables multiple users, or meeting attendees, to share computer screens or files, chat, broadcast live audio and video, and take part in other interactive online activities.

Once you create a meeting room, it exists until you delete it. The meeting room location is a URL, assigned by the system when the meeting is created. When you click the URL, you enter the virtual meeting room. A meeting room can be used over and over for the same weekly meeting. The host can leave the meeting room open or closed between scheduled meetings. If a meeting room is open between meetings, attendees are free to enter the room at any time to view content.

To take part in a meeting you must have a browser, a copy of Flash® Player 10 or higher, and an Internet connection. Your capabilities in a meeting depend on your assigned role and permissions.

Inside a meeting room

Content in a meeting room is displayed in pods, which are panels that contain various types of media. Individual pods contain a list of those attending the meeting, notes, chat, files, and video. A host can send attendees from the main meeting room to breakout rooms (smaller submeetings) to collaborate as a small group.

A second display area, the Presenter Only area, is visible to hosts and presenters, not attendees. Hosts and presenters can use the Presenter Only area to prepare content to be shared with attendees or to view confidential content.

To display the Presenter Only area, choose Meeting > Enable Presenter Only Area.

The menu bar contains several menus: a host sees the Meeting, Layouts, Pods, Audio, and Help menus; a presenter or participant sees only the Meeting and Help menus. At the far right edge of the menu bar, the colored bar indicates the connection status of the meeting room. Messages and warnings also appear in this corner. A red circle in the menu bar indicates that the host is recording the meeting. The Secure Sockets Lock indicates that the meeting is connected over a secure socket (verifying the host server’s identity)

Note: Adobe Connect administrators can change pod, sharing, and other settings to adhere to standards for governance. These settings affect the layout of meeting rooms and what you can do in meeting rooms. For more information, see Working with compliance and control settings.
View full size graphic
Meeting options differ for different types of users:
A.
Hosts

B.
Presenters and Participants

Meeting roles and permissions

Your role determines your capabilities for sharing, broadcasting, and other activities in an Adobe Connect meeting. There are three roles for meeting room attendees: host, presenter, and participant. Icons in the Attendees pod lets you identify the role and if they are connecting from mobile devices.

The creator of a meeting is designated as the host by default. The host can specify each attendee’s role, including selecting other attendees to be hosts for the meeting. Permissions for each role are as follows:

Host
Hosts can set up a meeting, invite guests, add content to the library, share content, and add or edit layouts in a meeting room. They can promote other participants to the role of meeting room host or presenter, or give enhanced permissions to a participant without promoting the participant. Hosts can start, stop, join, and leave audio conferences. They can also start and stop broadcasting audio into a meeting room. Hosts are able to create and manage small group breakout rooms within a meeting. They can also perform all the tasks that a presenter or participant can.

Presenter
Presenters can share content already loaded into the meeting room from the library and share content from their computer, including Adobe® Presenter presentations (PPT or PPTX files), Flash® application files (SWF files), images (JPEG files), Adobe PDF files, MP3 files, and FLV files. They can share their screen with all attendees, chat, and broadcast live audio and video. Presenters can mute and unmute audio broadcasts on their computers.

Participant (Registered)
Registered participants can view the content that the presenter is sharing, hear and see the presenter’s audio and video broadcast, and use text chat. Participants can mute and unmute audio broadcasts on their computers.

Participant (Guest)
Guest participants can view the content that the presenter is sharing, hear and see the presenter’s audio and video broadcast, and use text chat. Participants can mute and unmute audio broadcasts on their computers.

About the Meetings library

The Meetings tab in Adobe Connect Central contains three panes for accessing meetings: Shared Meetings, User Meetings, and My Meetings. Each pane contains folders and files with meeting content and recordings. Users can create and manage content in the My Meetings pane that appears when they are logged into Adobe Connect Central. Access to content in the other panes is determined by the meeting library permissions set for each user by the Adobe Connect Central administrator.

Content that you place in the Meetings library is available only for use in meetings. If you would like the content to be available for other activities initiated in Adobe Connect Central (such as events, seminars, or training), upload the content to the Content library, or move content from the Meetings library to the Content library.