Setting preferences for working in Lightroom

You can set preferences to change the Lightroom user interface.

Open the Preferences dialog box

  • On Windows, choose Edit > Preferences.
  • On Mac OS, choose Lightroom > Preferences.

Restore preferences to default settings

  1. Navigate to the following location:
    Mac OS
    [username]/Library/Preferences/

    Windows XP
    Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Adobe\Lightroom\Preferences\

    Windows Vista, Windows 7
    Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Preferences\

  2. Drag the following file to the Recycle Bin (Windows) or to the Trash (Mac OS):
    Mac OS
    com.adobe.Lightroom3.plist

    Windows
    Lightroom 3 Preferences.agprefs

Note: See Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3 preferences file and other file locations for more information on important Lightroom files.

Reset presets to their original settings

 In the Presets Preferences, click any of the Restore buttons in the Lightroom Defaults area.

Restore prompts you chose not to display

 In the General Preferences, click Reset All Warning Dialogs in the Prompts area.

Change the interface font size or the panel end marker

 In the Interface Preferences, choose options from the Panels menus.

Change the language setting

Lightroom can display menus, options, and tool tips in multiple languages.

  1. Do one of the following:
    • (Windows) In Lightroom, choose Edit > Preferences and click the General tab. Then, choose a language from the Language pop-up menu and click OK.

    • (Mac OS X v10.5) In System Preferences, click International. In the Language panel, drag the desired language to the top of the Languages list.

      (Mac OS v10.5) To see which languages are available for your version of Lightroom, select Adobe Lightroom 3 in the Applications folder. Then choose File > Get Info, and click the triangle next to Languages.
  2. Restart Lightroom.

The new language takes effect the next time you start Lightroom.