Storage

Use the settings on the Storage panel to control how (or whether) websites use Flash Player to store data on your computer.

Local storage settings

Local storage settings let you specify whether websites can store information using Flash Player. Sites can use local storage to save viewing history, game progress, preferences, or information about your computer. A site can only access local storage information that it previously saved (it cannot access data stored by another site).You can allow all sites, allow only certain sites that you specify, or block all sites from saving information on your computer using Flash Player.

  • Allow sites to save information on this computer

    If you want to allow any site to save information on your computer without prompting you, select this option.

  • Ask me before allowing new sites to save information on this computer

    If you want to let some websites save information on your computer, and want to decide on a case-by-case basis for each site, select this option.

  • Block all sites from storing information on this computer

    If you don't want to let any website save any information on your computer using Flash Player and never want to be prompted, select this option.

    Note: Selecting this option also deletes all existing local storage on your computer. You are prompted to confirm that you want to delete existing local storage in addition to blocking sites from saving information in the future.

Local storage settings by site...

Displays a list of sites using local storage or blocked from using local storage on this computer. You can allow or block the use of local storage for sites on the list. You can also require that a site prompt for permission before using local storage. You can also choose to remove sites from the list. Removing a site deletes all settings and data stored for that site in Flash Player.

To specify local storage settings for a site you have not yet visited, add the site to the list, and then specify its local storage settings.

Note: websites that you add or remove using the Local storage settings by site tab are also added to or removed from the lists displayed on all of the other Settings Manager tabs. For example, if you add a website to the Local storage settings by site list and specify local storage settings for it, and then proceed to the Camera and Microphone Settings by Site tab and delete the same website, it is deleted there as well, along with all of its Flash Player settings.

Delete all...

Note: these options let you delete all Flash Player data stored by websites on your computer. To remove all browsing history on your computer, clear the browsing history in any browser that you use.
Displays a panel that lets you choose to delete site data stored by Flash Player for all browsers you use on this computer. You can:
  • Delete all site data and settings

    Check this box to delete all local storage, camera, microphone, and peer-assisted networking settings when you click Delete Data at the bottom of the panel.

    Note: Checking this box and clicking Delete Data deletes data for all websites. To save data from some sites but delete it from others, return to the Storage tab, click Local storage settings by site, and remove only those sites whose data you want to delete.
  • Delete all audio and video license files

    Check this box to delete all of the license files for protected content, such as movies and music, that you have rented or purchased. Delete license files if you are selling or donating your computer and do not want others to play this content. You must obtain new license files from content providers to play this content again.

Learn more about private browsing

Private browsing lets you browse the web without storing any history on your computer. Flash Player integrates with your web browser to automatically clear stored data in accordance with your browser's private browsing settings.

What is private browsing?

Web browsers typically keep a history of sites you have visited to help you quickly retrace your steps online. For times when you do not want other people to see your history, many browsers offer a "private browsing" mode. When you turn on private browsing, browsers do not store any history, allowing you to hide your activity from other users sharing the same computer.

When you use private browsing mode, your web browser stores several types of information only temporarily. Once you leave private browsing, the browser deletes that data, including the record of your visit in the browser's history, cookies, and cached image files. In normal browsing, the browser remembers your history even after you've closed and restarted your browser. Flash Player also automatically clears any data it stores during private browsing, helping to keep your history private.

Note: Some websites that expect to save data using local storage can exhibit unexpected behavior during private browsing sessions.

Browsers that support Flash Player private browsing

Current versions of the following browsers support private browsing integration with Flash Player 10.1 and later:

  • Google Chrome

  • Mozilla Firefox

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer

  • Apple Safari

How does private browsing work?

Before Flash Player 10.1, the player behaved the same whether the browser was using private browsing or not. Browsers could clear data temporarily stored during a private browsing session, but they were unaware of any data stored in Flash Player local storage (also known as local shared objects or LSOs). Information in Flash Player local storage is stored on a site-by-site basis, so that one website can never see information from another website. However, storing information on a site-by-site basis can still leave a history of previously visited sites that have used local storage.

Starting with Flash Player 10.1, Flash Player actively supports the browser's private browsing mode, managing data in local storage so that it is consistent with private browsing. When a private browsing session ends, Flash Player automatically clears any corresponding data in local storage.

Also, Flash Player separates the local storage used in normal browsing from the local storage used during private browsing. When you enter private browsing mode, sites that you previously visited cannot access information they saved on your computer during normal browsing. For example, if you save your password in a Flash-powered web application during normal browsing, the site does not remember it when you visit the site using private browsing.

Learn more about privacy controls

Flash Player local storage

Flash Player local storage refers to files that can be created that store information on your computer when you visit certain websites. They are sometimes incorrectly referred to as “Flash cookies” because, like browser cookies, they can be used to store information such as login data or pages that you’ve visited. Many websites use this feature to remember information such as form information entered in content using Flash Player, your online game progress or high scores, settings such as your preferred playback volume, or where you last left off when watching a video. The information stored in local storage remains on your computer after you close Flash Player (even if you clear your browser cache) and is available only to the website that stored it. That website may retrieve the information in the local storage the next time you visit that site. You can clear this information at any time using Flash Player Settings Manager. For more information on local storage see www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/articles/lso.

What are the potential privacy issues?

It has been reported that some companies may be using Flash Player local storage to track users online in place of using HTTP cookies for that purpose. Some companies may also place a backup copy of HTTP cookies in local storage for use in the event the user deletes their cookies (this has sometimes been referred to as “respawning”). Adobe has publicly condemned the use of local storage in ways that are contrary to the user’s expressed intentions, but the nature of providing tools for an open platform means that we cannot control how developers and content producers use our products.

Your options

Detailed information about how each of your settings choices impact your Flash experience can be found on the Help pages for each tab in the Settings Manager. They are also available online: