Camera and Mic

The settings on this panel control how websites can use your computer’s camera and microphone to record audio and visual data. Because the use of cameras and microphones can have privacy implications, Flash Player requests permission by default before enabling the camera or microphone for any website. No website can use your camera or microphone unless you have expressly given the site permission. Use the settings on the Camera and Mic panel to override this default, and allow or block the use of the camera and microphone by specific websites.

Camera and microphone settings

Use this panel to set the camera and microphone settings in Flash Player.
  • Ask me when a site wants to use the camera or microphone (recommended)

    When you select this option (the default), any website that tries to use your camera or microphone must first ask your permission. This action applies both to websites you have already visited and to sites you haven't yet visited.

  • Block all sites from using the camera and microphone

    When you select this option, any website that tries to use your camera or microphone is denied access. You are not asked again if a website can use your camera or microphone. This action applies both to websites you have already visited and to those you haven't yet visited. If you want to allow specific sites to use the camera and microphone, click Camera and microphone settings by site and use the Add button to grant permission to the site.

Camera and microphone settings by site...

Displays a list of previously visited websites that have asked to use the camera or microphone on your computer. You can allow or block the use of your camera and microphone by sites on the list. You can also ask to be prompted for permission to use them. Finally, you can choose to remove sites from the list. Removing a site deletes all settings and data stored for that site in Flash Player.

The list initially contains only the sites you have already visited. If you want to specify camera and microphone settings for sites you have not yet visited, you can choose to add sites to the list. Once a site is on the list, you can specify whether to always allow camera and microphone use, ask permission, or never allow camera and microphone use by that site.

Note: Any website that you add or remove using the Camera and microphone settings by site panel is also added to or removed from the lists displayed on all of the other Settings Manager panels. For example, if you add a website to the Camera and microphone settings by site list and specify local storage settings for it, and then proceed to the Peer-assisted networking settings by site panel and delete the same website, it is deleted there as well, along with all of its Flash Player settings and local storage.