Advanced

Use the settings on the Advanced panel to control how Flash Player handles browsing data, updates, trusted locations, and protected content.

Browsing data and settings

Use the Browsing data and settings section of the Advanced panel to delete all Flash Player settings and local storage in all browsers that you use on your computer.

Note: Delete All...deletes only Flash Player data saved by your browsers. To completely remove all information about browsing sessions from your computer, open each browser and clear its history. See the individual browser’s documentation for further information.

Delete all...

Displays a panel that lets you choose to delete some types of Flash Player site data for all browsers you use on this computer. You can:
  • Delete all site data and settings

    Check this box to delete all local storage, camera, microphone, and peer-assisted networking settings when you click Delete Data at the bottom of the panel.

    Note: Checking this box and clicking Delete Data deletes data for all websites. To save data from some sites but delete it from others, return to the Storage, Camera and Mic, or Playback panel, click Storage, Camera and Mic or Playback settings by site, and remove only those sites whose data you want to delete.
  • Delete all audio and video license files

    Check this box to delete all of the license files for content, such as movies and music, that you have rented or purchased. Deleting the license files prevents Flash Player from playing this protected audio or video content, even if the content itself remains on your computer.

Updates

Adobe releases new versions of Flash Player periodically. Updates to Flash Player help ensure that Flash Player works properly and can include changes to security or new product functionality. Adobe recommends that you update to the latest version of Flash Player whenever a new version is available, especially when a security update is mentioned.

Use the Updates section of the Advanced tab to specify whether to check for newer versions of Flash Player automatically, or to check your installed version against the most recent release now.

Check Now

Clicking Check now takes you to http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about, which is a page on Adobe’s website that displays the version of Flash Player on your computer. The page also displays a table that shows the most current Flash Player version for each operating system and browser combination. Finally, the page provides a link to the Player Download Center, from which you can install a newer version of the Player.

Developer tools

For developers: Flash developers often work on SWF or FLV content that is eventually deployed on the Internet. During development of these applications, developers need to test while the SWF or FLV content is stored locally rather than deployed on a web server. For security, Flash Player blocks SWF and FLV content stored locally from accessing the Internet, and it prevents SWF and FLV content on the Internet from accessing your computer.

Accordingly, during local testing, Flash Player can show security warnings that prevent the application from functioning as intended. You can resolve this issue by using the Trusted Location Settings panel to designate your own SWF or FLV content as trusted. You can designate paths to individual files as trusted, or designate folders as trusted. All files in a trusted folder and any of its subfolders are trusted as well.

Trusted Location Settings...

Use this tab to specify locations on your computer that containing SWF or FLV content that you trust. Trusted content is not subject to the security rules that prevent content from accessing both the Internet and your local computer’s file system.

To specify trusted locations for developer testing

  1. On the Advanced panel, under Developer Tools, click Trusted location settings and then click Add.

  2. Enter the location on your computer that contains the trusted content, or click Browse files or Browse for folder to locate the file or folder to trust. If you specify a folder instead of a file, then all of its contents (including subfolders) become trusted as well.

  3. Click Confirm to add the domain, file, or folder to the list of trusted locations.

Protected content

Some content on the Internet (such as movies and music) requires that users first get content licenses from the content provider before playing the content. These content licenses are automatically downloaded to your computer, for example, when you rent or purchase protected content. Flash Player saves these licenses on your computer. Deleting the license files prevents Flash Player from playing this protected audio or video content, even if the content itself remains on your computer. This is called deauthorizing your computer. If you decide to sell, donate, or dispose of your computer, deauthorize it to prevent unauthorized users from playing protected content later.

Be careful when resetting license files. When you reset license files, Flash Player resets all existing license files for protected content that plays on your computer in Flash Player. You cannot access this content from this computer until you have downloaded new licenses from your content provider.

Deauthorize this computer...

Click this button to delete all of the license files for content, such as movies and music, that you have rented or purchased. Deauthorizing prevents Flash Player from playing this content, even if the content itself remains on your computer.